ICPF Conducts 15th Annual Careers In Corrugated Packaging & Display Teleconference
On February 20, 2014, the International Corrugated Packaging Foundation (ICPF) conducted its 15th annual, live Careers in Corrugated Packaging & Display Teleconference. Over 400 packaging, graphic design, marketing & sales, supply chain management, business and related students and faculty from 16 colleges and universities across North America participated. The annual broadcast is not a webcast, but a live video conference utilizing professional TV broadcast grade equipment at WKAR PBS studios for two-way interactivity. This year, participating campuses included Appalachian State University, Bowling Green State University, Cal Poly Packaging & Graphic Communications, Clemson University Graphic Communications & Packaging, Dunwoody College of Technology, Illinois State University, Lewis Clark State College, Michigan State University, Millersville University, Rochester Institute of Technology, Rutgers University, Ryerson University, University of Florida, University of Texas-Arlington, University of Wisconsin-Stout and Virginia Tech.

This year's topic, "The Business of Corrugated Packaging & Display” was addressed by James Collier (TimBar Packaging) representing the independent side of the industry and David Sukosky (PCA) who provided the integrated, publicly traded company perspective. Co-moderators included Joe Filler (Sound Packaging) and Tyler Matusevich (RockTenn). Joe and Tyler were recruited to the industry last year through ICPF, after respectively attending college packaging programs at Lewis Clark State College (LCSC) and Virginia Tech (VT). The Virginia Tech packaging program and Lewis and Clark's graphic & packaging design department are two of over 25 college and university programs supported by ICPF. Joe serves as a packaging designer at Sound Packaging in Arizona and Tyler is a sales representative in Virginia for RockTenn.

The panel presentation was followed by a round of live questions directed to the panelists from each of the 16 participating campuses. The two hour Teleconference's grand finale included ICPF's live "Best of the Best Student Design Presentation Competition”. Three student teams that earlier placed in AICC's 2013 design competition were tasked to "show, tell and sell" their winning entries by explaining the objective, the research conducted, design and other background. The University of Texas-Arlington, student team of Holly Aldriedge, Ayla Haynes & Cosme Olivas won first place in ICPF's 2014 competition and the Dunwoody College of Technology student team of Donna Einck, Melissa Resemius, & Jake Wondra won second place. The Ryerson University student team of Scott Morgan, Alex Wong, & Michael Wu won third place.

University of Texas-Arlington,

Dunwoody College of Technology

Ryerson University